SAN FRANCISCO - Linda Silverstein of Ford Motor Company was inducted into the National Auto Auction Association (NAAA) Hall of Fame at the Presidential Gala on Oct. 1, during the association’s annual conference in San Francisco. Silverstein is the general manager, remarketing and rental operations for Ford. The award was presented by John Brasher of Brasher’s Auto Auctions.

“Linda is tremendously well-respected throughout the industry, held in high regard by the auctions and her co-workers alike,” said Brasher in making the presentation. “She has guided Ford’s Remarketing and Rental Department through the turbulence experienced by auto industry over the past year, and is working through those challenges with poise and class. We’re all privileged to associate with her, appreciate her friendship and admire her tireless efforts on behalf Ford Motor Company.”

Silverstein has been responsible for Ford Motor Company vehicle remarketing since Oct. 1, 2002. In May 2005, her responsibilities expanded to include certified pre-owned vehicles, and in January 2007, rental operations were added. She works with 56 NAAA auctions in North America.

Silverstein joined the Ford Motor Company in 1982 as an analyst in Ford Division’s Detroit District Sales Office. During her six years in the Detroit office she held various positions including truck merchandising manager, market representation manager, distribution manager, and field manager.

Silverstein has held a variety of marketing and sales positions at Ford Division and Lincoln Mercury Division in Atlanta, Detroit, and San Francisco. She also held several staff positions, including work in dealer communications, advertising, and cross-vehicle line strategy. Additionally, she has worked outside of the company’s marketing divisions, including the sales operations controller’s office and in the strategy and advanced planning office in product development.

Silverstein was named Auction Department Manager in Oct. 2001. Prior, Silverstein was the head of automotive remarketing services where she had the opportunity to start a new business venture for the Ford Motor Company. Her team offered the company’s remarketing capabilities to external customers. Today, automotive remarketing services is fully integrated into Vehicle Remarketing.

Silverstein joined the Ford Motor Company in 1982 directly from Babson College in Massachusetts, where she earned an MBA. She earned a bachelor’s degree in Economics from the University of Massachusetts in 1980.

Hall of Fame Award Recipients

1968 Jack G. Charlesworth

1969 C.H. Van Steenberg

1970 Charles B. Neely, Frank B. Clement, and Timothy E. Anspach

1971 Elmo L. Joseph

1972 Dennis A. Kuhn, Fred M. MacDougall, and J. Martin Rawls

1973 Harold C. Henry, William N. Thee, Lawrence G. Tribble, and Harry Whitney

1974 Jacob H. Ruhl and William G. Morgan

1975 Melvin E. Reid and Tom Adams, Sr.

1976 Thomas W. Beasley and Lawrence Tarleton

1977 M.D McCollum and Edward Sullivan

1978 Sydney Friedlander and Norman Early

1979 Nicholas P. Cocoves and David B. Spielman

1980 J.B. Patterson and M.A Kottler

1981 J.C. Clanton, Jr. and Charles French

1982 Don Rogers and Claude Scoggins

1983 Frank S. Grochal and Warren V. Young

1984 Leona Drake and Bob McDevitt

1985 Tom S. Bruce and Gene McDonald

1986 Sam Gelt and James Lawrence

1987 J. Frank Brasher and Mel Suhr

1988 Bernard Hart and David Cape

1989 Clyde (Red) Hillwig, Jan Merritt, and Pete Murray

1990 Frank Hildreth and James Terry

1991 Mike Richardson and Mike McHale

1992 Tom Adams, Jr.

1993 Jim Seder and Lynn Weaver

1994 Jim Wheatley

1995 Bob August and Tom Cunningham

1996 Jacob Hershey, Sr. and Wayne Synder

1997 Barbara Wheatley and Virgil Matczak

1998 Darryll Ceccoli and Dave Osterhoff

1999 J. Omar Landis and Bob Burnett

2000 Tony Moorby and Tom Kniivila

2001 Burt Greenwood and Woody Miller

2002 Ruth Hart-Stephens and Ken Widmeyer

2003 Chuck Stepter and Joe Lyng

2004 Berta Phelps and Larry Hedrick

2005 Larry Brasher and David Langley

2006 Don DeVries and Mercedes Ruiz

2007 Larry Tribble, Jr. and Jeff Heichel

2008 Raymond C. Nichols and Stephen Houston

2009 Linda Silverstein