LAS VEGAS – Ed Bobit, chairman of Bobit Business Media and editor and publisher of Automotive Fleet magazine, was awarded the 2008 Circle of Excellence Award by the International Automotive Remarketing Alliance (IARA).

The award ceremony took place Mar. 26 at the IARA Circle of Excellence Award Luncheon at Caesar’s Palace. The award was presented by Dave Alfonso of Kia Motors to Bobit.

The 13th annual Conference of Automotive Remarketing (CAR), co-located with the International Automotive Remarketing Alliance (IARA) Winter Roundtable, held 20 sessions and had several exhibitors participate. Held in Las Vegas, the event featured more than 60 speakers who presented or participated in panels throughout the conference. A few common terms stringing all of the sessions together were cooperation, proactivity, coop-etition (meaning cooperating with your competition), and more industry standardization among condition reports.

The Circle of Excellence Award is presented to the individual who has clearly demonstrated outstanding contributions to the betterment of society and to the remarketing industry. This individual is universally recognized for his or her significant contributions.

Previous winners include:

2007: Warren Young

2006: Jim Frank

2005: Mike Hockett

2004: Mike Richardson

2003: Jim Moran