Photo of 2015 Ford Transit Connect by Vince Taroc.

Photo of 2015 Ford Transit Connect by Vince Taroc.

ALG, analytics division of TrueCar, Inc., has announced winners of its 15th annual Residual Value Awards, with Land Rover and Toyota taking top honors for Premium Brand and Mainstream Brand respectively.

ALG's Residual Value Awards (RVA) recognize vehicles in 26 segments — including compact and full-size commercial vans for the first time — that are forecast to retain the highest percentage of their Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) after a three-year period. This year's recipients were chosen from 2015 model-year vehicles on sale that have shown strong value in their competitive segments. 

"Residual value is important for automakers and consumers because it's a complete indicator of the vehicle's future value, accounting for quality, durability and brand desirability among other factors," said Larry Dominique, president of ALG and executive vice president of TrueCar. "The award recipients demonstrate strong forecasted returns on investments for their owners."

Land Rover's overall win among Premium manufacturers is its first, and comes as a result of having consistently delivered a stream of hot, new vehicles for which customer demand far outweighs supply, according to ALG.

Among Mainstream brands, Toyota captured five segment awards. Some of its highlights include the Toyota Prius v wagon overtaking last year's winner, the Prius c subcompact car, in the alternative-fuel category; the Toyota Tacoma pickup truck winning a 14th straight RVA; and the Toyota Tundra winning its fourth consecutive RVA. Toyota's premium products also took home three RVAs – the Lexus IS, Lexus GX, and Toyota Land Cruiser.

Noteworthy in this year's RVA winners are the Subaru Outback and Mini Hardtop, which have won in the past but re-enter as segment champs after being completely redesigned for 2014 and 2015.

Additionally, eight vehicles earned RVAs for the first time, including:

  • Dodge Charger (Full-size Car)
  • Subaru WRX (Sports Car)
  • Toyota Prius v (Alt-Fuel Vehicle)
  • Chevrolet Tahoe (Full-size/Utility Vehicle)
  • Ford Transit Connect (Mid-size Commercial Van)
  • Hyundai Genesis (Premium Full-size Car)
  • Audi TT (Premium Sports Car)
  • Porsche Macan (Premium Compact/Utility Vehicle)

Below is the full list of 2015 ALG RVA winners:

Category2015 Winner
Mainstream Brand Toyota
Premium Brand Land Rover
Subcompact Car Honda Fit
Compact Car Mazda3
Mid-size Car Subaru Legacy
Full-size Car Dodge Charger
Sports Car Subaru WRX
Alt-Fuel Vehicle Toyota Prius V
Minivan Honda Odyssey
Subcompact/Utility Vehicle MINI Countryman
Compact/Utility Vehicle Honda CR-V
Mid-size/Utility Vehicle - 2 Row Subaru Outback
Mid-size/Utility Vehicle - 3 Row Toyota Highlander
Full-size/Utility Vehicle Chevrolet Tahoe
Off-Road/Utility Vehicle Toyota 4Runner
Mid-size Pickup Toyota Tacoma
Full-size Pickup Toyota Tundra
Mid-size Commercial Van Ford Transit Connect
Full-size Commercial Van Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
Premium Compact Car MINI Hardtop
Premium Mid-size Car Lexus IS
Premium Full-size Car Hyundai Genesis
Premium Executive Car Porsche Panamera
Premium Sports Car Audi TT
Premium Compact/Utility Vehicle Porsche Macan
Premium Mid-size/Utility Vehicle - 2 Row Land Rover Range Rover Sport
Premium Mid-size/Utility Vehicle - 3 Row Lexus GX
Premium Full-size/Utility Vehicle Toyota Land Cruiser

Originally posted on Automotive Fleet